2022 28th Annual Brainwash Movie Festival Coming Soon and 2021 Program & WINNERS!

2022 Call for Entries!


The 2022 Brainwash Movie Drive-In/Bike-In/Walk-In Festival Call for Entries.

A rarefied and unique event: A drive-in movie festival high in the eastern California Sierra Mountains! Screening the weird, unusual and significantly great (but, probably, unheralded) movies of the world for the past 26 years. Every season, the Brainwash Drive-In/Bike-In/Walk-In Movie Festival screens your movies, gives awards and now going online, too! Join us! Submit your movie and/or come on out for the shows, or stay home and see how it all looks on the home movie screen. Nothin’ like it!

So enter and help yourself and the movie arts at Brainwash!


“Hurry, You’re Late” Entries: Shorts $35, Features $80 by June 30th, 2022

“Oh, Brother!” Entries: Shorts $40, Features $90 by July 31st, 2022

Note: Shorts are under 13 min., Features under 130 min.
Movies 13-59 min. are Shorts; 60-129 min. are Features.

We can no longer accept credit cards except through

The 27th Annual Brainwash Drive-In/Bike-In/Walk-In Movie Festival

And The Brainwash 2021 Movie Festival Winners!

2nd Grand Prize! Saving North – J. Mitchell Johnson

1st Prize: At Home She’s a Tourist – David Andrews

3rd Prize: Aliens on Halloween – Riker Lynch

4th Prize: Pleasant Valley Drive-In – Brian Zahm

5th Prize: Antenna Farm – John Akre

Audience Choice Award: Peace in War – John Case

Each night from Friday, October 15th – Sunday Oct. 17th, 2021 All shows @ 8:30pm

At The New Nimby Project

434-860 Doyle Loop

Doyle, California 96109

(Across from the Buck Inn)


Tickets $12ea. per show. Big Discounts on Groupon!

Friday, Oct. 15th

At Home She’s a Tourist –
David Andrews
Aliens on Halloween – Riker Lynch

Saving North – J. Mitchell Johnson

Saturday, Oct. 16th

Dash McCabe – Robert Pace
The Fuzzies – Josh Funk
Man on the Moon –
Sean Conway
Oh, For a Pack of Gum –
Malcolm Mills
As Good As Dead –
Dave Reda
Peace In War – John Case
Pleasant Valley Drive In –
Brian Zahm
ZugZwang –
Alireza Mohammadi
Antenna Farm – John Akre
Ouroboros – Heather Knott
Safe Passage (for Sheila) –
Erin Fussell
Survivers –
Carlos Gómez-Trigo
Swipe – Anthony Sneed
Vegetarian’s Lament –
Eric Maierson
Earsie – Erin Greenwell
Melissa Is Dead –
Matthew Ragsdale
an entombing(dis)entombing
Adam E. Stone

Sunday, Oct. 17th

Мы/We – Ivan Lopatin

Get the latest on Facebook and Twitter and join the email list!

Brainwash thanks our generous sponsors!

And many thanks to the following contributors — past, present, and future:

Founders: Shelby Toland, Dave Krzysik, Barbara Traub & Scott Arford
Exec. Producer: Duncan Maddux
2021 judges: Dave Krzysik, Kamala and Shelby Toland

Special Thanks to:
Neil Kaplan, David Sutera, Mike Snook and Nimby, Amy Stabler, Dionne Stevens, Jason Gohlke, (General Partner Emeritus), Ron Baker, Simon Lang, Michael Mohr, Jalal Elhayek, Steve Mobia, Bekah Barnett, Ben the awesome fiddle and banjo player, Doug Campbell, Mark McGothigan, Linda Lord, Gary Nakamoto, Dave Reda, Emmanuel Jonas, Steven DeCaprio, Sarah Fisher, Yvette Hochberg, Andy Kirk, D.J. Neel N. Kizmiaz, Lillian Phaeton, Bev Reiser, The Rhythmic Revolution, Hal Robins, Betty Tweedy, Jonathan Logan, Jesse Block, Ed Holmes, Vikki Vaden, Mark States, Victor Ho, John Law, The SF Cacophony Society, (we're on pgs. 230-231), Scott Beale, Rob Schmidt, J.D. Boggmann, Mr. Mystic, M2, Burning Man, Phil Shuey, Kathy Vaquilar, Annie Coulter, Mike Dingle, SomArts, Jabari Herbert, Monsa, Phil Snyder, Mark Thimijian, ALL of our moviemakers! and, in memoriam to Michael Hawk and Les Blank, whose movies live on.

Theme Music for the Festival and Big Weird Time Webisodes: Traffic Man, written by Dave Krzysik & Ed Bullins.
Performed by:
Hot Tub Man: Benny Lewis, Joe Shelby, Gaylord Birch, Nik Phelps, Joe McKinley, & Dave Krzysik. Hot Tub Man, with a different line-up, also performed Find Your Place, moviemaker Scott Bartlett's last movie.

Not To Mention The Doggie Diner Dogheads: